Architectural Practice Examination

The Architectural Practice Examination is a national exam, conducted twice each year in all states and territories.   To be eligible to apply to sit the Architectural Practice Examination, candidates must have a recognised qualification.  This can be either

  1. an approved Australian qualification, or
  2. an Overseas Qualification (OQA) assessed as equivalent to an Australian approved qualification (as assessed by AACA), or
  3. successfully completed a National Program of Assessment (NPRA) by the AACA.

There are 3 parts to the Examination:

  1. Logbook Assessment - logbooks must demonstrate 3300 hours work in the competencies for architects and must include a written Statement of Experience - A checklist for Part 1 is available here
  2. Written examination - a national multiple choice question paper
  3. Oral examination - with 2 examiners for up to 1 hour

The Architectural Practice Examination is conducted twice each year.  A Briefing for candidates is held before the commencement of each Session.  The first session of the year generally commences in February.  The second session commences in July of each year.  

The schedule for 2021 is here.

The 2021 Session 2 APE Briefing was held on 11 May 2021, the presentation for which can be accessed here.

The Architects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) has more important information about the Architectural Practice Examination, including the timeframe to sit all parts of the Examination, and eligibility for re-sitting parts of the examination you have previously attempted.  A Reference Guide for candidates is also available, along with a sample Examination paper and answer sheet.  You can also obtain and download a copy of the Logbook from the AACA website. 

Owing to the uncertainty surround the ongoing Covid-19 Pandemic, the 2021 Sessions of the National Examination Paper (NEP) will be undertaken via remote proctoring.  Frequently asked questions (in 2020) can be viewed here.

The APBSA conducted a survey of the candidates who sat the NEP in South Australia in 2020.  You can access the results of the survey here