Mutual Recognition and Automatic Mutual Recogntion

Automatic Mutual Recognition (AMR)

In May 2021, the Federal Government passed legislation on Automatic Mutual Recognition for many categories of occupational licenses and registrations in Australia.  Registration of Architects was included.  Implementation of Automatic Mutual Recognition requires each state and territory to pass enabling legislation.  Once passed, architects will be entitled to practice in other jurisdictions where AMR has been agreed.  Registration in your 'home' jurisdiction (ie place of residence, or principal place of work), must be maintained by all architects.

AMR only applies to practising architects - architectural businesses (partnerships, companies) are not included.   It is also not available for non-practising architects.

This website will keep you updated on the start up dates for AMR across Australia, and the procedures put in place in each jurisdiction.  Registration Boards may require a Notification be submitted before commencing work in another jurisdiction so you are strongly advised to check with the registration board where you intend to work before commencing to practice.  Another reason to check with the registration board is that start dates may change from the list below:

  • ACT - commenced
  • NSW - 1 November 2022
  • Victoria - commenced
  • WA - 1 July 2022
  • NT - 1 July 2022
  • Tasmania - start date to be announced
  • South Australia - 1 July 2022
  • Queensland - not participating

AMR commenced in this state on 1 July 2022.  A Notification of Intention is required from architects registered in other participating jurisdictions. Please ensure you are familiar with the requirements before lodging a Notification.  Guidance Note 6 on AMR can be accessed here - Guidance-Note-06-Automatic-Mutual-Recognition-copy.pdf    The Notification Form can be accessed here and on the Forms page (Form 02A).   AMR Notification of Intention to practice as an architect in South Australia. 

Architects registered under AMR in South Australia will be allocated a registration number with the prefix 'S'.  As long as you maintain your registration in your 'home' jurisdiction, or are not removed from a register of architects, AMR registration does not expire.   Therefore architects under AMR do not need to renew their registration each year.  However, you will be required to provide details of your current Professional Indemnity Insurance cover each year.  

If you are registered in SA and intend to practice in another State or Territory, you should contact the Registration Board in the jurisdiction you intend to practice in, to discuss their AMR procedures.  Websites and contact details for other registrations boards can be accessed from the Links page on this website. 

Mutual Recognition

Under mutual recognition provisions in Australia, a registered person in one state or territory is entitled to apply for registration in another state and territory.  An application form and registration fee is required  (Form 02).

New Zealand

The Trans Tasman Mutual Recognition Act enables registered persons in New Zealand or Australia to apply for registration in the other country.   To be registered in South Australia under these provisions, an application form and registration fee is required (Form 02).

Other International Agreements

The Architects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) has established Agreements with registration authorities in the following countries, which enable architects registered/licensed by that authority in their 'home' country to apply for registration in Australia.  These countries are

  • Singapore
  • Hong Kong
  • Canada
  • United States of America

An Agreement is currently being negotiated between UK/Australia/NZ.   To find out more about the International agreements, visit the AACA website