Continuing Professional Development

From 1 July 2020, architects registered in SA will be required to undertake CPD.  After consulting with the AIA and ACA in March 2020, the Board approved the 'Professional Development Rules' which will apply in South Australia from 1 July 2020.

The first year will be a transition year.  For the first year (2020-2021) Architects must accrue 10 points annually - including a minimum of 5 Formal points.   From 2021-2022, 20 points including a minimum of 10 Formal points must be accrued.

Year Formal Points Informal Points Total Points required
1/7/2020 - 30/6/2021 5 or more 5 or less 10
1/7/2021 - 30/6/2022 and beyond 10 or more 10 or less 20

The APBSA framework is consistent with the nationally agreed framework agreed by all registration boards.

CPD is self-directed learning and the PD Rules allow for a wide scope of activity.   Providers of CPD are not accredited by the Board.  The PD Rules overviews how architects can choose the type of activity, and the provider.   

Resources for Architects

CPD Rules: You can access the APBSA Professional Development Rules here CPD-RULES-DOCUMENT 

Record cards:  The sample CPD Record card can be dowloaded here   APBSA-CPD-Record-Card-Transition-Year.pdf  and the record card for 2021/22 and beyond can be dowloaded here  APBSA-CPD-Record-Card-2021+.pdf  or

App: you can record your CPD on-line through an App we have developed which is accessible by both mobile and desktop devices here (you will need to initially create an account, and we suggest bookmarking the app).   To add the icon to your home screen

Android phone - launch 'Chrome' app, then open the website or web page you want to pin to your home screen.  Tap the menu icon (3 dots in upper right hand corner), and tap Add to homescreen.  You will be able to enter a name for the shortcut and then Chrome will add it to your home screen.

iPhone -


CPD Provider Checklist:   The CPD Provider Checklist can be downloaded here  CPD-Provider-Checklist.pdf  

Further information will be distributed via the Board's Newsletter, and on this website.    In the meantime contact the Registrar if you have any queries. 

FAQ's - here they are FAQs.pdf